LCAC Leaders reflect on busy year

(December 8, 2009, Ottawa, Ontario) The Land Claims Agreements Coalition concluded its sixth annual Leadership Meeting in Ottawa on Monday.

The Coalition reconfirmed Coalition Co-chairs Paul Kaludjak, president of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc, and Kevin McKay, acting president of the Nisga’a Nation. Mr. Kaludjak stated that the Coalition has many 2009 achievements to celebrate including the release of it’s model national policy on the implementation of land claims agreements (modern treaties) in Canada. The roll-out was followed by the Coalition’s third national conference, entitled Claiming our Future: Implementing Land Claims Agreements for Social and Economic Prosperity, held in Ottawa in May 2009.

Co-chair Kevin McKay reminded Coalition members, all of whom are modern treaty signatories, that there is much work to be done in 2010. This includes pressing the federal government to adopt the model implementation policy and educating Canadians about modern treaties. The Coalition has yet to receive an official government response to the model policy.

The meeting was followed by a reception hosting many distinguished guests, including the Leader of the New Democratic Party, Jack Layton, and MPs Garry Breitkreuz, Larry Bagnell, Dennis Bevington and Todd Russell. Senator Gerry St. Germain, Chair of the Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples, also attended.

Formed in 2003, the Land Claims Agreements Coalition is an association of Aboriginal peoples who have signed modern treaties. The Coalition’s mandate is to ensure that these treaties are respected, honoured and fully implemented.

For more information, please contact: 

Patti Black, Coordinator
Land Claims Agreements Coalition
Tel: 613-374-3830

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.