Conference Proceedings

Scroll down for video links (courtesy of CPAC), audio files and session summary notes from the Keeping the Promise Conference.


1) Opening Comments
Presented by:

  • Kevin McKay, Chair of the Nisga’a Nation and Co-Chair of the Land Claims Agreements Coalition
  • Cathy Towtongie, President of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc and Co-chair of the Land Claims Agreements Coalition
  • Performance by Nunavut Sivuniksavut students

Video Link:
Audio File:

2) Keynote Address: The 40 Year Road
Presented by Thomas Berger

Video link:
Audio File:
Session Summary Notes: Thomas Berger Keynote Address

3) International Perspectives
Presented by:

  • Emil Notti, First President of the Alaska Federation of Natives
  • Sven Roald Nysto, Past President of the Sami Parliament

Video link:
Audio File:
Session Summary Notes: International Perspectives

4) Keeping the Promise Leaders Plenary
Presented by:

  • National Inuit Leader Terry Audla, President of Inuit Kapiriit Kanatami
  • Grand Chief Matthew Coon Come, Grand Council of the Crees
  • National Chief Shawn Atleo, Assembly of First Nations

Video Link: will be loaded when available
Audio File:
Session Summary Notes: Leaders Plenary Keeping the Promise